Boat Safety Classes
Every year the Allegan County Sheriff’s Office Marine Division offers boating safety classes to the public at no cost. The purpose of these courses is to instruct citizens about boating safety as well as current boating laws in the State of Michigan.
In order to legally operate motorized watercraft in Michigan, the State of Michigan requires persons born after July 1st 1996 to attend and successfully complete a boating safety course and possess a valid boating safety certificate while on the water.
Those persons wishing to legally operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC) must be at least 16 years of age and born after December 31st 1978. They also must possess a valid boating safety certificate while on the water. Other restrictions may apply.
Finding and registering for a Boater Safety Classes can be found online at the Sheriff’s Office website at:
Once on the Sheriff’s marine webpage, simply select the boater safety class schedule, choose the class you would like to attend and enter your information.
Children less than 12 years of age may take the class however a parent or guardian is request to attend with them.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.